FabuNOLA eNewsletter for FaBooNOLA Halloween Events & Haunts PLUS Music, Dancing through the Week & Eco-Event Preview (next weekend)!!

Standard

FabuNLA eNewsletter (October 31, 2009)

FabuNOLA eNewsletter for FaBooNOLA Halloween Events & Haunts PLUS Music, Dancing through the Week & Eco-Event Preview (next weekend)!!

Hello Phenomenal FabuNOLA Family (or should I say “Paranormal FaBOONOLA Family)!!!

 

Well, YOU know what time is is if you are in FaBooNOLA right now . . . it’s HALLOWEEN!!! A Major Holiday like Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest!!!

Well, I guess I’m not helping one bit by giving you a HUGE list of FaBOO things to get into. Let’s just say that I know you are going to be out and about anyway so I’m just giving you some things that will be totally enjoyable AND keep you sane!! Another necessary prescription in everyday Life right now ;D.

As you know, there’s always LOTS of FaBOO things to do this weekend (and beyond) in FaBooNOLA (okay, I’m going to stop doing that now 😉 ). . . making my job very busy indeed!!! AND I’ll see you on Frenchmen St. (LATE) on Saturday Night.Here’s a special note I want to send out to mark a special time for me that I want to honor:

I know A LOT of people celebrating their birthdays during this season and I especially know A LOT of people celebrating their birthdays TODAY & TOMORROW. Happy Halloween Birthday to all of you Zigaboo Birthday Babies today from FaBooNOLA ~ You know who you are ;)!!!

I want to make a very special mention to one particular person today (if you will indulge me) for her birthday and that’s Jessi (Jessica) Delgado . . . One of the truly Special Angels in my World. You see, this Halloween Weekend marks the 3 Year Anniversary of me coming back to New Orleans after moving away to Los Angeles in 2004 (10 months before the Storm). I jumped in my car and I drove all that distance to celebrate her Life . . . her true Joyful Spirit. I celebrate you again today (and every day) … Jessi … and send you all of my Love with all of my Heart!!

I also want to give special thanks to Jessi because had it not been for her Lovely Spirit hosting me and letting me stay with her (for a very, very LONG time), than I would’ve have made the decision to move back to FabuNOLA. She afforded me that opportunity. The opportunity of time to discover what I needed to within me and figure out what I needed to for my greater purpose. Jessi, I owe you a great debt of gratitude for this.

While I’m on the “thanking folks kick,” I’m definitely going to have to thank ALL of you in the FabuNOLA Community (then and now … including those just visiting). If it had not been for another show, gig, gallery exhibit, party, play, educational resource, meeting, workshop, session, Salsa/Swing Dance Social, child’s birthday event, Birthday Blowout, movie screening, business/organization launch, Second Line, musical/food/art/film/culture fair & fest, art/farmer’s market, eco-activism event, community gathering or (fill in the blank) that continued to be never ending, well . . . would I have stayed?

I continued to hear . . . “Wait, you can’t leave just yet because I have such and such going on tomorrow (or this weekend) and you HAVE to stay and come.” And I did. And I continue to. I felt the Love them . . . I still do to this very day. You see, New Orleans is really about Community . . . actually a rather LARGE Family that keeps getting bigger day by day . . . moment by moment. We gather for any reason/purpose . . . now that’s special.

No Storm will EVER take that away. 4 Years after Katrina, they are still going (and growing) stronger than ever. These events . . . these Community Gatherings are really about LOVE. That’s the main thing I recognized about New Orleans and New Orleanians (that’s what brought me here 20 years ago and continues to bring me back). Although I’m not originally from here (in August, I marked my 20 Year Anniversary of moving here from VA with my Parents just a couple of months AFTER High School), you have always made me feel a part of your special Family. A bond that cannot and will not Ever be broken.

These gatherings I speak of (if you’ve never been to FabuNOLA) are really about all of us “connecting” here in the Community because of it . . . because of that Love. That’s the truest reason why we throw the BEST Parties/Gatherings on Earth . . . because of our Love for a fellow person and wanting EVERYONE to have a Fabu time. That’s why I Live here . . . That’s who I Am inside. It’s because the New Orleans Spirit connects us ALL together (no matter where we Live).

I appreciate now more than ever my return 3 years ago. I look back on the time when I came for what I thought would be 2 weeks . . . then 2 months . . . now well over 2 years. I’ve found a greater sense of purpose now more than ever before because of all of my experiences. I found the true Me. My Spirit and Passion reside here . . . no matter where I go. And it makes me so very Happy. And people always feel it from Me because I choose to Live my Life with this Purpose.

I’ll share a quote again from writer and friend, Chris Rose, that I listed a long time ago and continue to share with people as much as possible. He so eloquently stated , “New Orleans is the Center of the Universe for Those who have a Lust for Life.” I have that very special “Lust for Life”!! I feel We all do, really . . . it’s just that some of You just haven’t fully discovered it yet. Please do!! Do what you MUST to awaken your true Passion in your Life. YOU will thank YOU for that. This I know for sure. It’s the only way to truly Live.

So today I thank Jessi, my Parents & Family (because they are SuperFabu), my Landlord (thanks again, Mike), countless Friends (who are also Family) for countless reasons, even strangers and a cast of Billions I still have yet to meet. I thank Everyone really because you’ve been with me along this phenomenal journey. This path of discovery in finding my true Purpose in Life. You’ve allowed me into your world with open arms and such unconditional Love. That is so magical and precious . . . so indescribable unless you’ve been here and connected to it. You’ve led Me . . . to Me. That’s what New Orleans does for us. If you’re not from here, You don’t just come here . . . you are drawn here. How can something like that ever be repaid?

Well, I must say that I do it every chance I get when I get to tell people about how very lovely you are . . . how very lovely our Community is (our FabuNOLA). And I thank you for drawing me into your lives on a regular basis through my special Love Letter to you . . . FabuNOLA. Thanks for reading/listening and letting me share FabuNOLA with You. Thanks also for letting Me share Me with You (that’s what FabuNOLA is too). You honor me every day . . . in so many ways.

Okay, now that I’ve stopped crying now (not really 😉 ) immense tears of joy & love, I’m going to list just a few (I always say that and it doesn’t happen) things going on because I know you already are swamped with LOVE from every super duper party invite (and person) out there. Here are some FaBOO things going with a few that you may not be aware of and might want to know about. They also flow into activities this week and the following weekend with some special Eco-Activities that you might want to participate in. That, and I’ve got the Tambo Salsa Workshop to be at now (oops!! write about events or live them ~~ gotta balance both 😉 ).

From my Spirit to yours . . . Thank You . . . I LOVE YOU!!!

As always, here’s hoping to see you . . .  Out and About.

Be  & Live Well,

Cherylyn
aka Miss FabuNOLA

 

~~
I’ll leave you with these Words of Encouragement:

 

“One of the fascinating things about human beings is this:  Believe for long enough that you are not as smart as others and this will actually lead to intellectual ineptitude.  But, confronted with the same doubts, if you choose to believe that your mind is merely dormant for now, lacking in exercise, once you begin to train it, there are no bounds to what you can achieve.”

Wisdom for Modern Life – Daisaku Ikeda

 

FabuNOLA News & Events (and LOVE!!)
To Find Out More FabuNOLA Info, Go To The FabuNOLA Blog at www.FabuNOLA.Wordpress.com

Connecting the Positive Side of New Orleans . . . Fabulously!!
FabuNOLA!!

 

Are You interested in Sponsoring a FabuNOLA eNewsletter and/or Advertising with FabuNOLA?

Let my Connections . . . Connect You Positively.

Contact Fabu@FabuNOLA.com for FabuNOLA Rates and further info.

(Thanks in advance for your fabulous consideration!!)

Tambo-Ween Salsa Workshop (presented by NOSD, Inc.)


This is going to be AWESOME!!! I know you have many choices in FabuNOLA for Halloween. However, if you Love Salsa as I do OR you are looking for something NEW to do that won’t have you out in the streets during Halloween, check this out for today AND tonight (Okay, technically, you can go to the workshop AND …the parties . . . plus still make other parties around the city . . . like I’ll be doing ;D). I hear Troy & Jorjet will also be in town for it!!

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

New Orleans Salsa Dancers would like to announce that Mitchell Provence and Monica Melito of Tambo Project (Germany) will be coming to New Orleans to teach workshops and perform October 30th-31st.

October 31st, 2009:
(Club Silhouette 3505 N Hullen St, Metairie, LA)

1. Workshops: 10am – 4:30pm

 

2. Party: 9pm – untilTo REGISTER please visit http://www.nosdinc.com/register
Walk-ins also welcome!!! Tell them FabuNOLA sent you!!

Mike@NOSD
http://www.nosdinc.com

 


Sweet Jones performs today (Oct. 31st) @ Whole Foods ~ Arabella Station
(1 – 3 pm ~ Note from Melissa: Happy Halloween!!):

http://www.SweetJonesMusic.com


Hey Melissa and Matt!! I won’t be able to make it out but KNOW LOTS of people will hear you playing there. Congrats!!!! Sweet Jones is a Blues and Funk band you are sure to want to check out!!And Melissa . . . I’m definitely in need of your yummy Gluten & Soy Free Baked Yummies ~~~ I can’t get your Blueberry Muffins out of my head (or my tummy whenever I have them). Must have your Granola too. When are we going to bake together . . . sigh . . . balancing a busy schedule. Soon though! Love you both!!

Many blessing.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

 

Halloween Salsa Dance Party (presented by NOSD, Inc.)(Saturday, October 31, 2009 from 9 pm to 2 am)

(Club Silhouette ~ 3505 N. Hullen St., Metairie, LA):

Come out and get your dance on at New Orleans Salsa Dancers’ (NOSD) Halloween Party!


Special Guests – Mitchell Provence & Monica Melito from Germany will be performing a freaky salsa routine to blow your minds!!!Time: 9pm – until the ghosts put us out!!!

Where: Club Silhouette 3505 N Hullen St Metairie, LA

Cost: $10 with no costume. $7 with a costume, $5 with workshop participation

http://www.nosdinc.com/register.php (Or just show up . . . everyone is welcome ~ tell them FabuNOLA sent you. Peace, CLT).

Mike@NOSD

 


Come out and get your dance on at New Orleans Salsa Dancers(NOSD)’ Halloween Party!


Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

“Invasion of The Booty Snatchers Party”
Invading you Booty with Funk-The Dynamite Dave Soul Spinning at Lazizza’s on Halloween Night:

The Dynamite Dave Soul spinning That Gritty Deep Nasty Funk all night long !!

2nd annual World Swirl Halloween Extravaganza!Invading Your Booty with Funk!!!

 


Costume Contest
Special Guests

Lazizza’s-2106 Chartres (corner of Frenchmen ~ NOLA ~ side of Cafe Brazil)
HALLOWEEN NIGHT ~ 9:30 pm – until

Don’t miss it!! Tonight’s the Night Folks! The Dynamite Dave Soul Live at Lazziza’s!!Be there or just hear about it and feel lame later! 😉

See you tonight!!

 


Tondrae

 

~~~
This is a Super Duper Party my close friends (Lidya, Tondrae & Matthew) are putting on. I hope you can come up because they always throw the best parties!!! Matthew’s Band is also playing at Dragon’s Den tonight too (and you’re an amazing artist, photographer & videographer too . . . what don’t you do?)Many Blessing.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 


 

Dr. Gonzeaux performs Live @ the Blue Nile on Frenchmen on Halloween Night with Gravity A & Mike Dillon’s Go-Go Jungle
(October 31, 2009 ~ doors open at 9 pm):

http://www.DrGonzeaux.com

Rock out on Halloween Night with Dr. Gonzeaux!  Make the Blue Nile one of your stops on this year’s fabulous Saturday night Halloween.  They will be upstairs so enjoy the view from the balcony and the wild costume party on the dance floor.

Hey Jesse & Mike (and thanks to Bethany for sending),

I can’t wait to hear you again!! You guys are Super Fabu & Phenenomenal!!!!!! LOVE IT and YOU!! OMG!!! I’m so happy you will be playing tonight. It’s perfect. And, yes, Jesse . . . I know you are still awaiting my call. I’ll patch a telephone can call in from the audience to the stage while you play ;D!! Okay, I’ll just blow you all kisses while I dance with Bethany and give you a call this week.

Many Blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

AND for ALL of you Uptowners or those in The Point . . . Algiers Point (that is)
Here’s something Big, especially for You!!!

In Algiers Point @ Old Point Bar (545 Patterson Dr):

Marlon Jordan Jazz Show @ 5 pm (hey Marlon ~ You cooking too ;D?)

Ghouls & Goblins & The Jesse Moore Band from 9:30 pm – 12:30 am

(October 31, 2009 ~ http://www.oldpointbar.com ~ 545 Patterson Dr.)

Then Uptown @ Tip’s, and a land far, far away

(okay, that’s left over from me seeing Star Wars In Concert this week ~ thanks again, Robert):

Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue Live @ Tipitinas
Come out and have a great time
Saturday, October 31, 2009 at 10:00pm
Tipitina’s  501 Napoleon Ave.

Come celebrate your Halloween right. Trombone Shorty & Orleans Ave live @ Tipitina’s. Also featured will be the Hot 8 Brass Band. This is a show that you don’t want to miss. Door open @ 10pm Admission: $20 Tickets may be purchased online @ http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?dispatch=loadSelectionData&pl=&eventId=2243804

**It is recommended that you get your tickets early. This show is sure to sell out. (Uh, Duh!!! ;D ~ Peace, CLT)

 

Other Great Causes & Happenings in FabuNOLA this Week
(Stay Connected Positively Folks):


 

Sunday Brunch featuring The Pfister Sisters @ Marigny Brasserie
640 Frenchmen St. (@ Royal)

11:45 – 2:15 pm

Presented by The Pfister Sister for FREE!!

http://www.pfistersisters.com/index.htm


Enjoy Brunch with the Pfister Sisters every Sunday!

The Pfister Sisters have delighted audiences with their sweet hot jazz harmonies since 1979. They were singled out in 1981 by Variety as one of the best new acts of the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, and 20 years later, their 2001 Jazz Fest appearance was dubbed “sublime” and “sparkling.” Holley, Debbie, Yvette and Amasa comprise one of the few groups that represent the New Orleans swing era, with their recreation of The Boswell Sisters arrangements, and the only act featuring vocal jazz harmony.

The Pfisters have sung with the Neville Brothers at Angola State Prison, with Linda Rondstadt and Jimmy Buffet at the New Orleans Artists Against Homelessness and Hunger concerts, and with Maxene Andrews (yes, of the Andrews Sisters) on the wing of an airplane. They are equally at home fronting a large orchestra as they are in an intimate cabaret setting, regaling audiences with the stories behind the music they lovingly bring to life.

~~~


Here’s some lovely to do to start your day right after all of your FaBooNOLA (okay I’m going to stop doing that) Halloween Parties. I’m guessing that MOST of you will still be roaming around on OR literally waking up on Frenchmen when Brunch is just starting at Marigny Brasserie. You should stop on by to listen to the lovely vocal harmony of the always lovey Pfister Sisters.

Hey Ladies . . . Smooches!!! Thanks for the Love . . . right back atcha!!

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

29th Annual Day of the Dead Celebration3319 Rosalie Alley, NOLA

(Sunday, November 1, 2009 starting at 7 pm for event above ~ 504-948-9961 for more details)

PLUS MORE with Dias de los Muertos @ The Old US MINT (all week long):


Dias de los Muertos ~ Day of the Dead Festivites @ The Old US Mint

A weeklong celebration of Mexico’s Day of the Dead traditions with authentic arts, music, food, and family fun presented by the Mexican Consulate of New Orleans, The Stone Center for Latin American Studies at Tulane University, and the Louisiana State Museum. All events are free and open to the public.

When & Where: October 27 through November 7, 2009 at the Old U.S. Mint, 400 Esplanade (between the French Market & Frenchmen St.)
Exhibits: Traditional Day of the Dead altar by artist Cynthia Ramirez and photography exhibit of UNESCO World Heritage sites in Mexico. Ground floor gallery, October 27 through November 7, 10 AM to 4:30 PM, closed Mondays.
3rd Annual Family Fiesta: Mariachi band, folkloric dancing, taqueria truck, family-friendly fun. Outdoor courtyard, Barracks St. side, Sunday, November 1, 2 PM to 4 PM

Go to http://www.stonecenter.tulane.edu for more details.

Yes, we celebrate Everything here in FabuNOLA ;D!! Here, a Celebration of Death is still a Fabulous Celebration of Life. Too Cool!!!

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

Gal Holiday & Her Honky Tonk Revue @ BMC(corner of Decatur & Esplanade)

Every Sunday from 9 pm ~ 12 am

 

Hey Vanessa,I so need to visit you all again for some dancing and your lovely music!!! Can’t wait!!

I bet Doug has been dancing up his heels while I’m not there (hey Doug ;D).

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 


Here’s something of interest to Me that I found out.
This takes places on November 1st around the Globe:

It’s World Vegan Day!!!

The 65th Annual World Vegan Day . . . to be exact! Happy 65th!!

(www.worldveganday.org)

Brewstock Teaches You to Make Your Own “Brew” (Tuesdays in November ~ Brew It Yourself “Playshop” presented at Gris Gris Lab):

I got to sit down with Aaron Hyde from Brewstock and Vignette Ching from Gris Gris this week to discuss this great workshop!! I don’t drink anymore so Aaron let me know that most of the mixtures can be made non-alcoholic (like the Mead & Ciders). He told me all about the process (which is so fascinating) and how he can show you how to stop the Yeast from fermenting after a couple of days so it becomes carbonated (like a soda) and therefore non-alcoholic.

Since this falls under the category of “Learning a new Fabu Skill that will help save you Fabu Money,”  I just have to let you all know about it. In this economy, do you really want to continue spending all of your money on beverages (listen up New Orleans ~ and all of my Lushy Friends ;D), when you can learn to make it yourself? Okay . . . that makes sense AND it’s doing something that will give you an edge over the guy standing near you in line waiting to buy something he could’ve just made.

And how interesting would that conversation be at the next party you show up at . . . “Why yes, I did make this bottle of (fill in the blank) for you and your guest. It’s a special recipe though . . . It’s made with LOVE ;D!! Plus, Aaron showcases all natural and special flavorings to give your beverages a unique taste that no one else but you will create!! Super Fresh . . . Super You!

And Aaron shared a special Father/Son bonding moment with me. His Father initially taught him how to make beer. And now it’s his passion and his company (love that). So his Father didn’t go out and buy him his first beer . . . he made it for him. (Okay, touching, heartfelt musical moment here) Awww!!!

I’m being told that they will re-schedule the “Meads, Cider & All-Natural Soda” Playshop at the end of this series. YAY!!!! Just what I want and Aaron had Satsumas with him. “WHAT?!?!? Did I hear someone say “All-Natural Satsuma Soda”? Why YES . . . And it was made with LOVE ;D.”

Aaron’s store, Brewstock, is located Uptown on Oakstreet (www.Brewstock.com). However, this very special workshop . . . I mean Playshop (I just love saying that), will be located at the Super Phenomenal new Gris Gris Lab (www.grisgrislab.com). Connect with them . . . and, as always, tell them that FabuNOLA sent you!!

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn


BREWSTOCK “BREW IT YOURSELF” BEVERAGE MAKING PLAYSHOP!!


NEW RECESSION FRIENDLY PRICES!
$15 if you RSVP ahead of time, $20 at the door!! (space is limited to 10 people ~~ ohhh, so intimate and lovely ;D ~ Peace, CLT)

3 upcoming Tuesdays in November, 6-8 pm

November 3: Beer!
November 10: Wine!
November 17: Roast your own coffee!
TBD (hopefully the following Tues. ~ will keep you posted but if enough people RSVP, they will DEFINITELY set it RIGHT away ~ Peace, CLT): Meads, Cider & All-Natural Sodas!!

Each Brew It Yourself playshop will offer hands-on experience, sample libations, as
well as take-home guides and recipes for all of your magical creations.

Contact Vignette@grisgrislab.com for more info.

Conjure your own concoctions with the Brew It Yourself series led by Aaron Hyde,
owner of Brewstock Homebrewing Supplies. Aaron has been brewing for over 12 years;
having studied brewing, wine making, and viticulture at UC-Davis and Texas Tech. He
has taught beginning and advanced home brewing classes in Wisconsin and New
Orleans-both at Brewstock and the Southern Food & Beverage Museum. Aaron opened
Brewstock in January 2009, and he currently brews wine and beer, roasts coffee and
makes his own meads and sodas.
http://www.brewstock.com

Lady Festhttp://www.LadyFestNewOrleans.com

(Beginning November 4th for 5 Days @ 5 Different Locations)




LadyFest, New Orleans, a non-profit music, spoken word and arts festival organized by local women of all identities to showcase, celebrate and encourage the music, poetry, art and activism of women in New Orleans and to benefit local organizations that support women presents their third annual festival.   The festival runs for five days at five different venues.  It will begin on Wed., Nov. 4, 6 pm at St. Anna’s Episcopal Church, 1313 Esplanade, New Orleans, with a Homily by Deacon Joyce Jackson, the first and only black woman Episcopal deacon in New Orleans.  This will be followed by gospel music from Tonia Scott and the Anointed Voices who were the featured choir in “Skeleton Key”.  The Queen Clarinet of Louisiana, Doreen Ketchens, will close out the evening with lots of hot music from Doreen’s Jazz New Orleans.   The festival moves to Snug Harbor on Thur., Nov 5 with two shows 8 and 10 pm at Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro, 626 Frenchmen, featuring Cindy Scott, Leah Chase, Megan Swartz on piano, Cori Waters on drums and Cassandra Falconer on bass.   On Friday, Nov. 6, Sweet Lorraine’s, 1931 St. Claude is the place to be with Charmaine Neville, David & Roselyn, Estelle Compagne on flute, GaBrilla Ballard, Lynn Drury & the Pfister sisters accompanied by Amassa Miller on Piano, Cori Waters on drums and Cassandra Falconer on bass.   Sat, Nov. 7th the show moves to the Marigny Theatre, 1030 Marigny at St. Claude to enjoy blues with Beth Trepagnier, hear Gina Forsyth, dynamite on guitar or fiddle, and be amazed by Kayne Reznick’s lusty irreverent folk songs, Lindsay Mendez performing music from her new CD, Olivia Green bringing a fresh slant to jazz accompanied by Cori, Cassandra and Estelle. Then Some Like It Hot tears up the evening.   Sun., Nov. 8th, LadyFest New Orleans 2009 has its final performance at the Ashe’ Cultural Arts Center 1712 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., from 11 am to 6 pm with 30 X 90, Dixie Rose, Hazel and the Delta Ramblers, Kelcy Mae, Margie Perez, Olga and Troi Bechet with Mimi Geste on Piano, Cori Waters on Drums, Cassandra Falconer on Bass and Estelle Campagne on Flute.


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:
504-949-3001  504-949-3001 , LadyFestNO@gmail.com


LADYFEST 2009 SCHEDULE   WED, NOV 4TH, ST. ANNA’S 6:00 to 9 pm   Deacon Joyce Jackson’s Homily on “Women of the Bible” Tonia Scott and the Anointed Voices Doreen’s Jazz New Orleans   THURS, NOV 5TH, SNUG HARBOR 8:00 pm & 10:00 pm   Cindy Scott, Leah Chase, with Meghan Swartz on Piano, Cori Walters on Drums & Cassandra Falconer on Bass   FRI, NOV 6TH, SWEET LORRAINE’S 7 pm to Midnight   Charmaine Neville, David & Roselyn, Estelle Campagne, GaBrilla Ballard, Lynn Drury& the Pfister Sisters, MoLasses:New Orleans'(mostly)Women’s Brass Band With Amasa Miller on Piano, Cori Walters on Drums & Cassandra Falconer on Bass,   SAT, NOV 7TH, MARIGNY THEATRE 7pm  to Midnight   Beth Trepagnier, Gina Forsyth, Kaye Reznick, Lindsay Mendez, Olivia Greene, Toni O, Meghan Swartz Piano, Cori Walters on Drums, Cassandra Falconer on Bass & Estelle Campagne on Flute   SUN, NOV 8TH, ASHE’ CULTURAL ARTS CENTER Noon to 6pm 30 X 90, Dixie Rose, Hazel-The Delta Rambler, Kelcy Mae, Margie Perez, Olga, Troi Bechet, Cori Walters on Drums & Cassandra Falconer on Bass, Estelle Campagne on Flute & Mimi Geste on Piano


~~~

Gotta Support My Lovely Ladies!!!! Too many good friends here to list . . . just get out and see them. Although, I know Nov. 1st is your Birthday, Troi!! Special Birthday Wish to you, Boo. We go too far back to not mention that ;D

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

NOSD, Inc. Hump Day Salsa Social at Galvez Restaurant
(FREE ~ Every Wednesday ~ Now at this PHENOMENAL New Location)

(see my Salsa dancing video from this week on Facebook to know what I’m talking about)


I recently read that this quote: “Dancing is a Short Cut to Happiness!!” I so agree and it is DEFINITELY one of my Short Cuts to Happiness!! That’s why I’m always dancing . . . and why so many of you say that I’m always Happy ;D!! Gotta find your short cuts . . . I hope you have!! Well here’s one possibility to discover:New Orleans Salsa Dancers, Inc. HUMP DAY SOCIAL TONIGHT at GALVEZ RESTAURANT (914 N Peters.) 6:30pm-7pm FREE Cha-Cha/Bachata Class. 7:00pm-10pm Dance Social. ALL FREE!!!! Come out and get over the hump with salsa.http://salsaneworleans.com/index.php.

Here is video footage Kenneth Braxton took of me and Stephen dancing from his iPhone last week: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHRtix_fR2g. I didn’t realize that people cleared the floor to watch us. This totally looks like a Salsa New Orleans Ad with the Cafe Du Monde drink cups visibly placed ;D.

Here are some clearer videos I asked friends to take of me dancing (since I always take of others) with my camera. It’s on my Facebook Page now so if this doesn’t work, please go there to see:

Dancing with Ted George on Oct. 28, 2009 for NOSD Salsa Social

Dancing with Mike Griffin (NOSD Creator & Salsa Instructor Extraordinaire) on Oct. 28, 2009 for NOSD Salsa Social @ Galvez Restaurant

Hope you all can come out. Even if you don’t know how to dance yet, the venue is gorgeous. The view is spectacular (see Old Algiers from across the River, Downtown New Orleans and the French Quarter all from the Balcony or even just dancing in the middle of the room (magical).

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 



Fabu Continental Spanish Cuisine & Tapas if you are hungry too (and one of the most phenomenal views in the city). Do you all know the story of Galvez Restaurant yet (www.galvezrestaurant.com)? Yes, it’s the former Bella Luna Restaurant but I mean the choosing of the name? I found this so interesting so I really felt moved to share with you (Peace ~ CLT):

(Taken from the Galvez Restaurant Website)

The history of New Orleans cuisine began with the discovery of Louisiana by Spanish Explorers.

On February 1st, 1777 at the tender age of 29, Bernardo De Galvez became the first Spanish Governor of Louisiana. Part of his mission (along with keeping an eye on the British in Florida) was to befriend the native peoples and encourage immigration. Two principle groups he invited to make Louisiana their home were Spanish settlers from Canary Island, Spain (Los Islenos) and the French Acadian (Cajun) immigrants who the British expelled from Canada’s Maritime provinces.

As the French and Spanish cultures integrated, and melded with the local Native and African Americans, they exchanged meals and recipes. In fact, it’s rumoured that the first Gumbos and Jambalayas that we enjoy today had their origins in the classic Spanish dishes of Caldo Gallego and Paella.

At Galvez Restaurant, we’re proud of the roll Spanish cuisine played in making New Orleans a globally recognised destination for foodies. In fact, it’s with this fine heritage in mind that our sumptuous dishes are prepared from scratch to the highest standards of authenticity.

…and we think Bernardo de Galvez would have loved this place!

Pretty Cool History, huh? I think so . . . Peace, CLT

Khris Royal & Dark Matter @ Blue Nile (523 Frenchmen)
Wednesdays starting @ 10:30 pm


Hey Khris (my Boo) . . . got only Love for YOU!!! Tell you folks I said Hi too!!!

Many blessings.Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 


Swing Dance Night @ Rock-N-Bowl
Every Wednesday from 8:30 pm – 12 am ($5 Cover)

Haven’t been able to go in a little while. Focusing on work and Salsa. You all know how much I love you though (Robert . . . save me a dance and thanks again for taking me to see “Star Wars In Concert . ..  so COOL!!) so I’ll be back soon. You know how much I LOVE to Swing Dance.

Many blessings.Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

 

Leon “Kid Chocolate” Brown’s Thursday Night Jazz Jam @ The Rusty Nail (1100 Constance St., NOLA)
Every Thursday @ 10 pm



Leon & Pam, thanks for all you did for the 350.org event last Sunday (October 25th). Leon great to walk beside you and Kid Merv in the Second Line. You are now and forever my Eco-Brothers in the Global Eco-Community!! And Kudos to you and Pam for riding you bikes down to the celebration and Second Line from Congo Square to Frenchmen. Okay . . . that was Super Spectacular!!! I’m ready to do it again!! Just let me know when and where ;D!!


Hey, you both need to come out to Salsa on Wednesdays. I’ll come by you on Thursdays!! After all, you are just down the street from my house (thanks Pam for offering to let me sleep in the spare room if I can’t make it home . . . too cute!!). Much Love . . . One of the cutest couples in FabuNOLA!!!Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

Fredy Omar con su Banda @ BMC
Every Friday @ 10:30 pm – 1:30 am (1331 Decatur St @ Esplanade)

http://www.FredyOmar.com

LOVE YOU, FREDY!!!! We are forever connected through our Positive Spirits and from your Phenomenal Music making my Feet just have to Dance!!!!

 

Many blessings.Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

 

Get Ready for Major Eco-Activities in FabuNOLA next weekend . . . Do your part . . . Do Something!!

Allied Waste Monthly Recycling Drop-Off
Saturday, November 7, 2009 (8 am – 1 pm):


ALLIED WASTE OF NEW ORLEANS IS PROUD TO ANNOUNCE THE
REOPENING OF OUR RECYCLING FACILITY.ALLIED WILL BE HOSTING A MONTHLY RECYCLING DROP OFF OPEN
TO THE PUBLIC EVERY 1ST SATURDAY OF THE MONTH

WHEN: NOVEMBER 7, 2009

WHERE: 804 L & A RD., Metairie, LA 70001
TIME: 8:00AM-1:00PM

DIRECTIONS: Take Airline Drive to LaBarre Road, turn towards the Mississippi River, then turn left on L & A Road, go approximately 1.8 miles. We are located
on the right side of L & A Road.

JOIN OUR TEAM AT ALLIED WASTE AS WE STRIVE
TO
Reduce…
Reuse…
Recycle…

Please call us for any Commercial & Industrial needs at 504.837.8950 ext 245
Items Accepted: Paper, Cardboard, Newspaper, Magazines, Junk Mail, Aluminum
Cans, Plastic Soda & Water Bottles, Liquid Detergent and Bleach Bottles,
Milk Jugs, Tin, Steel & Metal Cans

No Glass Accepted

 

~~~

 

Okay, this is a major step FORWARD in the right direction. Drop offs before where every 6 weeks to 2 months and between different locations when Recycling Foundation of Baton Rouge would generously drive all of their trucks down to help us out. That went away several months ago leaving a BIG recycling void for those of us not willing to pay for something that MUST be provided for FREE to our FabuCommunity!!!

Until the City of New Orleans figures it out how to bring citywide recycling back to FabuNOLA, I’m very pleased to announce that Allied Waste of New Orleans will be doing this EVERY 1st Saturday of the Month. And THANK GOODNESS for the longer hours!! Support their business.Also, check my FabuNOLA Blog for other 24/7 Drop-Off points and Free Home Recycling for Lab Recycling.

By Everyone doing their part to make a difference . . . we ALL make a difference . . . Together.

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn

 

Register NOW for “The Green Rebuilding of New Orleans” Conference
November 8 & 9, 2009

http://rebuildnolagreen.wordpress.com/registration


Thanks to a generous donation made by the City of New Orleans and the Go Green NOLA Program, we were able to LOWER OUR REGISTRATION FEES for “The Green Rebuilding of New Orleans!”

Register now for the first annual post-Katrina conference to discuss green building efforts that have occurred throughout the city since the infamous 2005 storm.

WHAT: “The Green Rebuilding of New Orleans”
WHEN: Sunday and Monday, November 8-9, 2009
WHERE: Doubletree Hotel in Downtown New Orleans, 300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (map)
REGISTRATION: General admission is $25; Sierra Club members and students $20; Early Bird Professional Registration (for those who plan to apply for continuing education credits) $60.  Click here for more information and to register: http://rebuildnolagreen.wordpress.com/registration.

CONFERENCE HIGHLIGHTS

Book signing and speech by award-winning author, Rebecca Solnit
Bus tour of current and past New Orleans green building projects
16 educational sessions with over 40 speakers
Reception/mixer with a silent auction and live local music
And much more!

 

Local organizations working on-the-ground in New Orleans will give attendees a well-rounded picture of the green building scene and how the city is rebuilding strategically.  Architects and other technical professionals will provide educational information on how to conduct innovative sustainable building practices.  The event is the first of its kind, and it will be divided into three simultaneous tracks: Green Building, Urban Farming in Metro New Orleans, or Green Jobs.

For more information about the conference including registration, a detailed list of speakers and organizations as well as an hour-by-hour schedule, please visit our conference website.

Yours in the struggle,

Darryl

Darryl Malek-Wiley
Regional Representative
Environmental-Justice Organizer
Sierra Club

P.S. All are welcome — please forward this email to your friends and family!

~~~


I’ll be there with you, Darryl. Supporting the Green Movement in FabuNOLA and Beyond!!!

Many blessings.

Peace & Love,

Cherylyn


That’s it for now.
Until the next time I see You on the Page or in Person!

Many blessings.

Peace & Love!!

 

FabuNOLA eNewsletter & BlogCLT Main Picture

Promoting the Positive Side of New Orleans … Fabulously!!!


Please check the FabuNOLA Blog regularly for new notices (www.FabuNOLA.Wordpress.com). To get regular newsletter, sign-up at www.FabuNOLA.com.

Follow me on Facebook (daily): Cherylyn L. Tompkins

Twitter me (occassionally): FabuNOLA

Email me:  Fabu@FabuNOLA.com
Thanks & Peace,

 

Cherylyn

FabuN♥LA

Cherylyn L. Tompkins
·  Creator, Writer & Socially Conscious ConnectorFabuNOLA . . . Consciously Connecting New Orleans Globally . . . one person at a time.

 

Celebrating the Fabulous New Orleans we live in … and the Fabulous People who live here (and beyond)!!Be inspired to share the FabuNOLA Spirit within you with others. Then watch the positive seeds you plant as they grow! I hope you feel inspired to share this FabuNOLA Newsletter with others.

 

Spread the positive movement along! Looking forward to connecting with you soon!!
Leave a Reply

